Teenager in the house.

24/01/2013

Eldest son was 13 last week; it marks the start of the teenage years in our house, and a new family chapter.
Part of me (quite a large part actually) is feeling a little overwhelmed and perplexed, that the baby I bought home from the maternity unit is growing into a young man. The teenage years are in part, the cycle of time in which we begin to let go, whilst also still being there, a steady presence. I am in part mourning, the time with him as a baby, toddler, young school boy; they are now past, and how quickly that has happened.
He is a loving, caring, kind, beautiful, thoughtful, clever, quietly confident, handsome young man. He is at the beginning of his journey into adulthood and blossoming into his adult self. The gradual transformation which has happened over these thirteen years; is like being shown a glimpse through a window, to see the man he is becoming.
I vividly remember becoming 13 and my teenage years, there were some turbulent times to say the least and I left home at 16. The freedom was intoxicating and I soaked it up, little did I know then that those few short years from 16 -19; would be the only ones in which I was completely carefree.

I hope I remember how important it is:
• to be heard and listened to properly
• to be allowed to question and have an opinion different to your parents/others/the status quo
• to dream
• to believe in your own unique creativity
• to define your own values and belief
• to fall in love and enjoy your sexual being

I hope that he always knows without question or doubt how much I love him and all the joy he continues to give me.
It is an honour and a blessing to be his mum, I vow to do my best for him; not in a Mary Poppins ‘practically perfect in every way’……..More of, ‘I know I wont always get it right, but I will always be here for you…kind of way’. To continue watching you grow and become all you choose to be.

I have been proud of you since the moment you were born, my arms will always hug, cuddle and hold you, despite your protests….cuddles are full of love.
I know you’ll remember me singing, Into My Arms by Nick Cave and how I’d change it to….Into My Arms…oh Hugh….Into My Arms; I will always remember when you were small, that you would dance and sing with me, precious and priceless; as you still are.

2 Responses to “Teenager in the house.”

  1. Angie Ridley Says:

    That is lovely Bev.
    Angie x


Leave a Reply

